instrumentals_chill is black lab’s first instrumental collection, drawing from every major album — especially a raven has my heart. enough people mentioned that they would like to have the instrumental versions of raven that the band decided to dedicate a full album to creating a cinematic listening experience, one without all those pesky vocals. the sonic landscapes created by these tracks unfold before your ears, lush and relaxing.

whether for chilled out evening listening, a dinner party, a headphone journey, some epic karaoke, or that feeling of walking around in your own film, these instrumentals stand on their own. they have their own story to tell. they range from the liquid electronica of raven, to acoustic tracks of interwoven cello, guitar and piano, to the trip-hoppish moments from passion, including “this night” and “weightless.” even within the basic _chill designation there is an ebb and flow, from soft empty tracks to think washes of electronic beats, deep and dark to inspirational. get it and get ready for a unique musical trip up the nile of your own mind.

this is a digital-only release, available to preview and buy via CD-quality download at black lab’s bandcamp page:



  • Instrumentals_chill

  • Live at Mercury Lounge

  • A Raven Has My Heart

  • Best of the MP3 of the Month Club

  • Two Strangers

  • Unplugged

  • Give Us Sugar: b-sides

  • Passion Leaves a Trace

  • Technologie

  • See The Sun

  • Your Body Above Me

  • Stray Palace EPs

  • Paul Solo: 10M Years

buy music